Book Creator

The United States Three Branches of Government

by Vivian Overmyer


The Branches of the United States Government
By Vivian Overmyer
The Legislative Branch
The main power of the Legislative Branch is the power to make laws. The Congress is split into two houses, the House of Representatives and the Senate. Representatives can hold office for two years and can be reelected. Representatives need to be twenty-five years old, must be a citizen for seven years, and must live in the state from which they are chosen from. Senators can stay in office for six years, and they can also be reelected. Each state can have only two senators. Five different "powers" or abilities given to Congress are they can change and make laws, they can make and collect taxes, and declare war.
Executive Branch
The most important job for the Executive Branch is president. To be elected you must be born in the United States, must be thirty-five years old, and must be live in the United States for fourteen years. President's term in office is four years and can be reelected only once. Three different "powers" or abilities given to the president is that they are the Commander-in-Chief of the army and navy, they lead the militia, and lastly they can ask their advisors for ideas about any subject.
Electoral Vote
The popular vote is the vote for president. The number of electors is determined by the number of Senators and Representatives, one for each of them. The people who vote for president are the electors or the citizens. Electors can vote however they want to vote. If there is a tie then the House of Representatives vote. The winner of the popular vote doesn't always win the election though.
Judicial Branch
Courts that make up the Judicial branch are the Federal Courts and the National Courts. The highest court is the Supreme Court. Responsibilities of this branch is that they get to decide if laws are constitutional. Supreme Court judges hold office for as long as they want. The different types of cases the Supreme Courts hear are ones that involve federal laws. There are nine justices on the Supreme Court. The constitution can be change, but if it is to happen two-thirds of both houses of Congress can start an amendment. Then it must be ratified on by three-fourths of the states. Three different justices that are currently serving are John G. Roberts, Elena Kagan, and Brett M.

You've reached the end of the book

Read again

Made with Book Creator