Book Creator

The Life Cycle of A Butterfly

by Jackson, Sydney

Pages 4 and 5 of 11

The Life Cycle of A Butterfly
By: Sydney Jackson
Stage One: The Egg
Butterfly eggs are very small and have different shapes.
This stage usually lasts between 3-7 days.
Stage Two: Caterpillar (Larva)
The caterpillar hatches from the egg.
During this stage, caterpillars shed their skin 4-5 times.
Stage Three: The Pupa (Chrysalis)
During this stage, the caterpillar goes through a process called "metamorphosis." This is when the butterfly begins to form
This stage could last for a couple of days or up to a year!
Stage Four: The Adult Butterfly
This is the final stage of a butterfly's life cycle.
Once the butterfly emerges from the pupa, they are ready to take flight in just a few hours.
Fun Facts
Butterflies taste with their feet
There are around 165,000 species of butterflies
Butterfly wings are transparent
Butterflies glue their eggs to leaves