Book Creator

5 Pillars

by Richard Hermann


The Five Pillars of Islam
By: Ty Hermann
Shahada (Profession of Faith)
The shahada is an Islamic oath that says,  "I bear witness that there is no god but God, and I bear witness that Muhammad is the messenger of God." This means that you shall only worship Allah and no other god.
Salat (Prayer)
Salat is a prayer performed by Muslims. Muslims pray five times a day on their hands and knees pointing toward Mecca. This is in respect for Allah and their holy land. They do this in a cycle of repetitive bows.
Zakat (Alms/Giving)
Zakat is a financial term in Islamic culture. The term Zakat means an individual's obligation to donate 3-5% of their yearly income to charity or to the poor. Unlike in most religions, Muslims are allowed to give wherever they see fit.
Sawm (Fasting)
Sawm is the practice of fasting during Ramadan. While fasting, you abstain from food, among other things like smoking or drinking. Sawm is observed during the entire month of Ramadan from sun up to sun down. At the end of the month, they have a huge feast to celebrate the occasion.
Hajj (Pilgrimage)
The Hajj is a once-in-a-lifetime pilgrimage for every professing Muslim. This pilgrimage consists of (If you have the physical ability) taking a trip to Mecca, Islam's holy land, once in your life. Muslims then walk in a big circle around the Kaaba, a large box of holy signicigance. This pilgrimage signifies their faith in Allah and the Islamic faith.