Book Creator

The Life Cycle of a Frog

by Sarah Hollingsworth


The Life Cycle of a Frog

By: Sarah Hollingsworth
The Life Cycle of a Frog

By Sarah Hollingsworth
Arkansas Science Standards

7-LS2-2 Construct an explanation that predicts patterns of interactions among organisms across multiple
ecosystems. [Clarification Statement: Emphasis is on predicting consistent patterns of interactions in different
ecosystems in terms of the relationships among and between organisms and abiotic components of ecosystems.
Examples of types of interactions could include competitive, predatory, and mutually beneficial.]
7-LS2-5 Evaluate competing design solutions for maintaining biodiversity and ecosystem services.* [Clarification
Statement: Examples of ecosystem services could include water purification, nutrient recycling, or prevention of
soil erosion. Examples of design solution constraints could include scientific, economic, and social
The life cycle of the frog is an amazing process. In this book you will learn about the different stages a frog goes through from egg to adult frog.
Stage 1: Egg

Frogs often lay their eggs in ponds and other gently flowing bodies of water.  The eggs remain in the water until hatched a few weeks later.
Stage 2: Tadpole            

In about 2 to 3 weeks frogs hatch into tadpoles and eat the remaining egg yolk from the egg that they hatched out of. Tadpoles are not able to go on land yet so they swim around in the water and eat algae, moss, and duckweed. Tadpoles are herbivores for the first 6 weeks of their lives.