Book Creator


by Fiona Mendez


Sport- Cricket
Cricket is a game that is played between two teams. Each team consists of 11 players. A wooden bat weighing about 2 to 3 pounds is used as an equipment of the game along with a ball.
There is a field at the centre of which is a 22-yard pitch with a wicket at each end, each comprising two bails balanced on three stumps. The game proceeds when a player on the fielding team, called the bowler, "bowls" the ball from one end of the pitch towards the wicket at the other end. The batting side's players score runs by striking the bowled ball with a bat and running between the wickets.
In 1744, the first Laws of Cricket were written and came into effect in 1774, when innovations such as lbw, a 3rd stump, - the middle stump and a maximum bat width were added. The codes were drawn up by the “Star and Garter Club” whose members ultimately founded the famous Marylebone Cricket Club at Lord's in 1787. MCC immediately became the custodian of the Laws and has made revisions ever since then to the current day.
The most important tournament for domestic cricketers is the Ranji Trophy. Whoever performs in the Ranji Trophy goes further to the Duleep Trophy as well as the Irani Cup and then eventually has a chance to join the national Indian team.