Book Creator

Seven Sister States

by Saleena Cardoz


The Seven Sisters
Northeast India, known for its mesmerizing beauty consists of seven states known as "Seven Sisters of India". The charming Seven Sisters of India are located in the easternmost region of Northeast India.
1) Arunachal Pradesh
Arunachal Pradesh is a state in Northeastern India. It was formed from the erstwhile North-East Frontier Agency region, and became a state on 20 February 1987. Itanagar is the state capital and its largest town. Arunachal Pradesh is the largest of the Seven Sister States of Northeast India by area.
2) Assam
Assam is a state in northeastern India known for its wildlife, archeological sites and tea plantations. In the west, Guwahati, Assam’s largest city, features silk bazaars and the hilltop Kamakhya Temple. Umananda Temple sits on Peacock Island in the Brahmaputra river. The state capital, Dispur, is a suburb of Guwahati.
3) Meghalaya
Meghalaya is a state in northeast India. Meghalaya was formed on 21 January 1972 by carving out two districts from the state of Assam: the United Khasi Hills and Jaintia Hills and the Garo Hills.
4) Manipur
Manipur is a state in northeast India, with the city of Imphal as its capital. It is bounded by the Indian states of Nagaland to the north, Mizoram to the south and Assam to the west. It also borders two regions of Myanmar, Sagaing Region to the east and Chin State to the south.