Book Creator


by Alessia Colella/Leonardo Vigliotta


a.s 2022/2023
Colella Alessia e Vigliotta Leonardo di IV D presentano...
Lavoro curato da Colella Alessia e Vigliotta Leonardo
1- Inglese: Commonwealth e Parlamento britannico (Organizzazione dello Stato e ordinamento giuridico).

2- Storia dell'arte: Enti preposti alla tutela del patrimonio storico artistico. il collezionismo e il museo.

3- italiano/greco: Lo Stato, diritto naturale e positivo, civitas e polis.

4- latino: La crisi della repubblica.

5- filosofia/storia/diritto: Organizzazione dello Stato ed ord. giuridico italiano. Il diritto e le sue fonti. La norma giuridica. Organi di rilevanza costituzionale (Parlamento, Governo, Presidente della Repubblica). La parità di genere.
The political system of the United Kingdom
The political system of the United Kingdom is composed of a complex of parliamentarianism, monarchy and democracy, which coexist in a multi-party system. The prime minister is the head of government. Executive power is exercised by the government, legislative power by both the government and the two houses of Parliament, the House of Lords and the House of Commons. The judiciary is independent of the executive and legislative.
The UK system of government, known as the Westminster System, has also been adopted by other countries, such as Canada, India, Australia, New Zealand, Singapore, Malaysia and Jamaica, which were once part of the British Empire.
The Constitution is not codified in a text as is the case for almost all Western countries, but is derived from constitutional conventions, centuries-old legislative acts (e.g. the Magna Charta Libertatum of 1215, the Bill of Rights of 1689) and other sources.

(the House of Commons)
Since the late 1990s some legislative and administrative powers have been devolved to Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland, reducing the role of the London Parliament
The monarch appoints judges and magistrates in the criminal courts (including members of the Supreme Court) on the designation of independent commissions for the selection of judges.
The Constitutional Reform Act 2005 (the Constitutional Reform Act 2005, in force since 2009) took away many of the powers previously held by the Lord Chancellor and entrusted them to other members of the British Government, primarily to the Minister for Constitutional Affairs, recently created.
The legal system for England and Wales (those of Scotland and Northern Ireland are separate), does not have a criminal or civil code, but is founded on 2 basic elements:
- the written right (Statute), represented by the laws enacted by Parliament (Act of Parliament) and published in the Statute Book;
- the common law (Common Law), made up of judicial decisions, uses and customs, so called to distinguish it from special laws such as Roman or canon law. Almost all criminal law is now normatively enshrined in statutes (Act of Parliament), while most civil law still depends on the common law.
The rules of the European Union (regulations, directives and decisions) also apply to Great Britain, by virtue of its accession since 1972, having primacy over national law.
For criminal cases, there are 2 main types of courts:
the Magistrates' Courts (or tribunals of first instance), which deal with about 95% of cases;
the Crown Courts (Court of Appeal) for the most serious offences.
For civil cases such as, matters relating to family, property, contracts, etc. (regulated by civil law) are usually dealt with in the County Courts.
At the apex of the judicial system is the High Court of Justice which deals with the most complex cases.